Written By:

The season of the LVMH Prize has rolled around again, and we couldn’t be more over the moon. Following a teaser posted by the organisation on Instagram at the beginning of the week, the competition has now revealed who has made the cut for its latest crop of semi-finalists for 2024.

Comprised of 20 upcoming, boundary-breaking designers, the announcement signals the start of the industry’s favourite way of honouring new talent. In the following months these exceptional creatives will present their work to a revered collection of industry experts in the hopes of securing the €400,000 prize pot and an LVMH-tailored mentorship programme which will take place over the course of the year following the bestowment. The winner will follow in the footsteps of notable talents such as Grace Wales Bonner (2016), S.S. Daley (2022) and last year’s winner, Setchu. Also up for grabs for a designer who showcases boundless creativity is the Karl Lagerfeld Prize, which comes with an €200,000 endowment and mentorship from the wider teams at LVMH – a prize that was given to recent Pitti Uomo guest designer Magliano, last year. This year also marks the launch of the new Savoir-Faire Prize which focuses on exceptional craftsmanship, technical expertise and innovation. Winning it will come with a €200,000 paycheque and one-year of mentorship.

This year’s list features an assortment of exciting designers, ranging from Standing Ground’s Michael Stewart and Sarabande Foundation residence Paolo Carzana. With further information and personal bios to be released in the coming days, the fashion games are ready to begin. See the full shortlist of the 2024 LVMH Prize semi-finalists below:

Agbobly by Jacques Agbobly, Togo, womenswear and menswear

Aubero by Julian Louie, United States, menswear

Campillo by Patricio Campillo, Mexico, menswear

Chiahung Su by Chia Hung Su, Taiwan, genderless collections

Duran Lantink by Duran Lantink, the Netherlands, womenswear, menswear and genderless collections

Elena Velez by Elena Velez, United States, womenswear

Fidan Novruzova by Fidan Novruzova, Moldova, womenswear

Hodakova by Ellen Hodakova Larson, Sweden, womenswear

Jyongkim by Jiyong Kim, South Korea, menswear

Karoline Vitto by Karoline Vitto, Brazil, womenswear

Khoki by Koki Abe, Japan, menswear

Marie Adam-Leenaerdt by Marie Adam-Leenaerdt, Belgium, womenswear

Niccolò Pasqualetti by Niccolò Pasqualetti, Italy, genderless collections

Paolo Carzana by Paolo Carzana, United Kingdom, womenswear and menswear

Pauline Dujancourt by Pauline Dujancourt, France, womenswear by Derek Cheng and Alex Po, China, genderless collections

Standing Ground by Michael Stewart, Ireland, womenswear

Vautrait by Yonathan Carmel, Israel, womenswear

Who Decides War by Everard Best and Tela D’Amore Best, United States, womenswear and menswear
Ya Yi by Yavi Chen Zhou, Spain, womenswear

Photography courtesy of LVMH.