Written By:

Last night the Council of Fashion Designers of America held their annual awards ceremony. Held at the American Museum of Natural History, Thom Browne, the current CFDA chairman, opened the evening before introducing host Anne Hathaway. Along with Narciso Rodriguez, she presented the first award of the evening, American Womenswear Designer of the Year, to Catherine Holstein of Khaite. This marks back-to-back wins for Holstein, a favourite for her sleek and elegant designs. To announce the American Menswear Designer of the Year, J Balvin and Greg Lauren took the stage, handing the trophy over to Willy Chavarria.

Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen took home the American Accessory Designer of the Year, for their work at The Row and the final award that wasn’t announced prior to the evening, Emerging Designer of the Year, went to Rachel Scott of Diotima.

Other honorees of the evening included Serena Williams, who received the Fashion Icon award fittingly in a Thom Browne ball gown. Gwyneth Paltrow, for her work at goop, earned the Innovation Award while the Eugenia Sheppard Media award went to Alina Cho. Vera Wang and Maria Cornejo, were also acknowledged, the former receiving the Board of Directors Tribute and the latter given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert was given to Domenico De Sole and Mara Hoffman took home the Environmental Sustainability award. And Jonathan Anderson, for his work at both his namesake label and Loewe, accepted the International Award.

Photography courtesy of the CFDA