Written By:

Awards season incoming. The 2021 CFDA Awards nominees and honourees have arrived ahead of the ceremony which will take place IRL on November 10. It’s a list of firsts, w with Dapper Dan being the first designer without a fashion show to ever win the Geoffrey Beene lifetime achievement award. Other first-time nominees include 10 favourite Eli Russell Linnetz for ERL, Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God, Maisie Schloss for Maisie Wilen, Thompson for Theophilio, Jameel Mohammed for KHIRY and Kenneth Nicholson. See the full list of nominees below:

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert:

Aurora James for the 15 Percent Pledge 

The Environmental Sustainability Award:


The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard:

Nina Garcia

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:

Dapper Dan

The Board of Directors’ Tribute:

Yeohlee Teng

American Womenswear Designer of the Year Nominees:

Catherine Holstein for Khaite

Christopher John Rogers

Gabriela Hearst

Marc Jacobs

Peter Do

American Menswear Designer of the Year nominees:

Emily Adams Bode for Bode

Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God

Mike Amiri for Amiri

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

Thom Browne

American Accessories Designer of the Year nominees:

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Aurora James for Brother Vellies

Gabriela Hearst

Stuart Vevers for Coach

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year nominees:

Edvin Thompson for Theophilio

Eli Russell Linnetz for ERL

Jameel Mohammed for Khiry

Kenneth Nicholson

Maisie Schloss for Maisie Wilen

International Women’s Designer of the Year nominees:

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta

Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga

Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada

Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus

International Men’s Designer of the Year nominees: 

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta

Dries Van Noten

Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner

Rick Owens

Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Above image: Dapper Dan for Gucci.